Vela is the Asia Rugby Vice

18 November 2019 – Asia Rugby latest annual general assembly in Bali, Indonesia saw a new leadership team is set to lead the union. Qais Al-Dhalai of United Arab Emirates is the new president as he succeed Aga Hussain.

Malaysian, Velayuthan Tan is the new vice president as he replaced Yuici Eno from Japan while Fawzi Khawaja of Pakistan retain his seat.

65 years old Vela is the former Deputy President for Malaysia Rugby but he decided not to compete in the latest Malaysia Rugby election as he wants to focus on the Asia Rugby. That proved to be the right move as he win the election.

The Eagles Rugby Club president was part of Asia Rugby council members where he was also the chairman of the development committee.

The full list of Asia Rugby lineup

Qais Al-Dhalai   *  (UAE)

Vice Presidents
 Fawzi Khawaja  * (Pakistan)
 Velayuthan Tan * (Malaysia)

Hon Treasurer
Mike Haynes     * (Hong Kong)

World Rugby Council Members
Terence Khoo  * (Singapore )
Ada Milby

Natapol Hemyoo       (Thailand)
Makoto Nishiki    (Japan)
Kakhramon Djalilov  (Uzbekistan )
Herman Huang  (Chinese Taipei )
Gondo Radityo Gambiro    *    (Indonesia )
Tanka Lal Ghising      * (Nepal)

Asia Rugby had their 2 days meeting and election in Bali, Indonesia from 16 – 17 November 2019.

Photo from Asia Rugby

Leave a Reply

Next Post

KV Kelantan clinch BPLTV Cup

18 November 2019 – Tournament host, KV Kelantan took full advantage of playing in the home ground as the clinch the 2019 Bahagian Pendidikan Latihan Teknik dan Vokasional (BPLTV) Cup for the first time ever. They went unbeaten in the 3 days tournament to finish top of the table. 7 […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: