MRL return this February

8 January 2019 – 16 teams had confirmed their participation in the 2019 Malaysia Rugby League. Those teams will be playing in 2 different division, the Premier and Division 1.

2017 champion, Keris Conlay will be there to defend the title. They are in the Group A of Premier Division with the beaten 2017 finalist, ASAS RC is in Group B.

The other 6 teams in the Premier are Mersing Eagles, UiTM Lions, SSTMI Tsunami, Serdang Angels, NS Wanderers and Iskandar Raiders. They, however, are still without the pool yet with the final draw for the group will be complete later in the week.

Mersing Eagles and SSTMI Tsunami are expected to challenge for the title.

Over in Division 1, Poly MAS Hornets is the first seeded team as they were one of the team who competed in the Premier back in 2017. They are the team to beat in Group C. COBRA is being placed in Group D.

The remaining 6 teams of Division 1 are 2017 Division 1 champion, Silver Gaurus, ATM JLJ, KL Tigers, Blackhawks, Edwardian Tigers, and Polis Bersatu.

Fixture congestion, as well as financial issues, forced the cancellation of Malaysia Rugby League in 2018.

The match week one is being scheduled to start on 16th February 2019. The match will be played on both Saturday and Sunday during the weekend. The quarter-final matches are expected to take place on week 4, with semi-final come a week later.

Both Premier and Division 1 final match will be played on match week 6, 24 March 2019 which fall on Sunday.

Photos from Ragbionline/AirAsia Malaysia Rugby League archive.

Leave a Reply

Next Post

16 to fight for Manila spot

16 players to fight for 12 spot to be on the plane to Manila. Can they retained the Gold?

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: