Agong Cup to kick off in October

25 July 2018 – Malaysia Rugby Union has released the schedule for the 2018 Agong Cup. It will be a brand new format for this year as teams are being divided into 3 division.

All the semi-finalist in 2017 will be in the Premier Division. 2017 Champion, Johor will take on Terengganu, Kedah and Perak in the Premier Division. The next 4 teams will be in Division 1 are Kelantan, Negeri Sembilan, PDRM and ATM. This is also base on their performance in 2017.

There will be two groups in Division 2. Perlis, Selangor and Pulau Pinang are in Pool A while Pool B is consists of Kuala Lumpur, Pahang and Melaka. Only Perlis took part in 2017 Agong Cup while the remaining 5 teams did not participate last year.

The tournament supposed to have another Division of East Malaysia but with Sarawak and Labuan decision to pull out, that give Sabah direct spot to compete in the quarter-final. They will join the tournament at the quarter-final stage. They will meet the 4th rank team from the Premier Division.

Agong Cup

Fahmy Abdul Jalil as the Tournament Director shared, “The decision to introduce different division is to make sure we will have the well-contested match from the week 1. We did not want what happened last year to repeat again and watch a one sided-match”.

The first week of the tournament will begin on 6th October 2018. The final match is scheduled to take place on 25th November 2018.

Johor is the winner for 2017 edition as they produced a great comeback to beat Terengganu 32 – 29 in the match that took place at Gong Badak Sports Complex, Kuala Terengganu.

Photos by Zainuddin Mamat and Fauzi Saim

Leave a Reply

Next Post

Sapporo will decide the team

27 July 2018 – Malaysia 7s team will be heading to Japan as they continue their preparation for the upcoming Asia Games in Jakarta, Indonesia. To this date, this Asia Invitational 7s in Sapporo will be the last tournament for the national team before the Games. Four teams including Malaysia […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: