Royal Town claimed UTP throne

10 July 2018 – Royal Town Warriors showed who is the king as they shrugged off the host in the final match. The team from Klang did a tremendous job to silent the host crowd with 17 – 0 scoreline to lift the title.

20 teams compete in the Open category with Royal Town secured the top spot of Pool D with maximum 12 points. The UTP Drillers did even better as they scored outstanding 89 points in all 4 wins during the group stage to secured Pool C top spot.

UTP Drillers overcame VP Pirates 12 – 0 in the quarter-final while Royal Town scored 2 tries to book the semi-final spot with 14 – 5 win over Mighty Jailer. Royal Town kept the impressive run with 12 – 0 over KPM Bandar Penawar of Johor to book the final spot. The other team from Perak, RMR Warriors played their heart out but unable to shock the host as they were beaten 7 – 10 in the other semifinal.

UTP Super Rugby 10s Open

Royal Town shifted into the top gear in the final. With the like of Mohammad Nor Adol (captain), Hakim Abu Hassan and former Malaysia Under 20 players, Sufi Hafizuddin in their disposal, Royal Town showed quality and composure to tame the Drillers and won the final 17 – 0.

Hakim Abu Hassan opened the scoring with Zulmajdi Kama Razali and Malaysia Under 20 captain, A’aziem Badaruddin scored a try each in the final match.

Photos by Aiman Farhan/ragbionline

Leave a Reply

Next Post

Time to write history in Namibia

12 July 2018 – Malaysia 7s team finally arrived at Swakopmund, Namibia, as they will take, will compete in the FISU World University Championship Rugby 7s. This is Malaysia 8th participation in the game where their journey in Swansea 2016 cut short in the group stage. The players, as well […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: