The Premier 7s is back!

17 February 2018 – The MCKK Premier 7s is back with 24 teams confirmed their participation for the 2018 edition. This will be the 8th edition of the tournament.

The eighth edition of the MCKK Premier 7s Rugby Tournament will be held from the 23 February 2018 to 25 February 2018 at the MCKK rugby grounds. The Annual Tournament is being held to raise funds towards the development of sports in MCKK with emphasis on rugby as a traditional game of the College. In the seven years since it’s inception, the funds raised have contributed a great deal to the enhancement of all sports and facilities in MCKK.

23 schools from all over Malaysia including last year champion, Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) will take part. Australian International School from Singapore will be the only school outside Malaysia to compete while last year runner-up, Hong Kong Sports School have to skip the tournament due to other commitment.

The tournament host, MCKK will be hoping to challenge for the title this year. Their run for the N. J. Ryan trophy ended in the semi-final as they lost to the tournament champion, SSTMI 29 – 0.

First seeded team, SSTMI will be wishing to have the hat-trick of the championship after they won back to back in 2016 and 2017. Last year was their fourth title as they also won it back in 2011 and 2012.

61 matches will be played in 3 days. 6 matches will be played on the first day before another 30 preliminary matches will be played on the second day. All 25 knockout matches will be played on the last day.

All the matches will be played at the Malay College Kuala Kangsar.

The full 24 teams list

Photos by Zainuddin Mamat

Leave a Reply

Next Post

Premier 7s kembali

17 Februari 2018 – The 7th MCKK Premier kembali dengan 24 pasukan telah mengesahkan penyertaan mereka untuk edisi 2018. Ini akan menjadi edisi ke-8 kejohanan. Edisi ke-8 Kejohanan Ragbi Perdana 7 MCKK akan diadakan dari 23 Februari 2018 hingga 25 Februari 2018 di padang ragbi MCKK. Kejohanan Tahunan diadakan untuk […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: