Lions roared to first ever Gold medal

10 February 2018 – UiTM Lions matched the pre-tournament prediction as they win the first ever Gold medal in SUKIPT 2018 Women Rugby 7s. The team represented by numbers of current and previous national players overcame Universiti Putra Malaysia in the final.

UPM Ladies Angels previously shocked UiTM Simba in the group stage to advance to the knockout round. That win shocked everyone who expected UiTM Lions to stroll until the final.

Lions as the pool champion, did not face any trouble in the semi-final. They overcame Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia 38 – 0, scoring 6 tries in the process. UPM also had an impressive semi-final match. They got better of Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris 17 – 0.

Universiti Teknologi MARA shifted into another gear for their final match. They dominated the match from the early encounter and did not let UPM play their game.

Match experience and fitness were certainly the difference between the two finalists. UiTM with 6 players who used and current national players, was way too good for UPM. Rozliana Ridwan, Henrietta David and Euphrasia Anne Cralis who were in the bronze medal squad during the 2017 Kuala Lumpur SEA Games played magnificently in the final. Rozliana scored 1 while Henrietta provided two tries for UiTM while the 4th try produce by Sherron David. Eupharasia Anne’s pace also caused trouble to the opponent as her run opened the gap for her teammate.

Other notable national players in UiTM are Abbygale Rayone Michael Lojinggu who played for Malaysia in 2015 Singapore SEA Games, Wan Noor Shafiqa Mohd Radza (MALAYSIA SEA 7s) as well as Divine Juvinol who represented Malaysia U20 in Hong Kong.

Universiti Teknologi MARA beat Universiti Putra Malaysia 24 – 0 to win the first-ever gold in SUKIPT Women Rugby 7s.

8 teams took part in the first-ever women category in the SUKIPT, a good sign of women participation in the rugby. The tournament took place at the Padang A, Universiti Putra Malaysia

The 3 days SUKIPT 2018 Rugby 7s was broadcast live through RagbionlineTV youtube channel.

The full match result:

Photos by Zainuddin Mamat

Leave a Reply