Three 7s Series in 2018


26 October 2017 – The Malaysia Rugby Union has released the 2018 schedule and it is great to see numbers of positive changes for next year. Recent success for Malaysia during the SEA Games as we got Gold for men and Bronze for Women opened Union eyes to create more tournament. The Malaysia Rugby Union has decided that this is the right time to have Three 7s Series Tournament in Malaysia, and that will replace the yearly National 7s. This will create more chances for players in Malaysia to impress and gain more match experience.

It is being said that the Series idea was suggested by Johor Rugby Union presiden, Haji Mohd Noorazam Osman during the recent MRU Annual Gathering Meeting.

Johor will be the first stop for the series. Kuala Lumpur will be second while Ipoh, Perak will be the last stop on the calendar. All the three series will be held in March and April 2018.

The suggested dates are :

Siri 1
24-25 Mac
Muar, Johor

Siri 2
7-8 April
Kuala Lumpur

Siri 3
21-22 April
Ipoh, Perak

The date mentioned is yet to be finalized but it is expected to be around those suggested.

Kelantan conquered this year National 7s competition as both their senior and junior team strolled to the title. The 2017 National 7s which was held in Ipoh, Perak also saw 9 women team competed for the first time in that category. Kedah who won that category will be the sole winner of Women National 7s champion.

There is still no news on the kind of the category which will be on the line in all 3 series. However, we are hoping to see all 3 Men, Men Under 20 and Women category in all 3 series.

Photos by Zainuddin Mamat/ragbionline

Leave a Reply

Next Post

3 Kejohanan 7s Series pada 2018

26 Oktober 2017 – Kesatuan Ragbi Malaysia telah mengeluarkan jadual untuk tahun 2018 dan kami melihat perubahan yang sangat positif untuk tahun hadapan. Kejayaan baru-baru ini untuk Malaysia semasa Sukan SEA ketika memenangi pingat Emas untuk Lelaki dan Gangsa bagi pasukan Wanita membuka mata Kesatuan untuk mewujudkan lebih banyak kejohanan […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: