Johor claimed second ever Agong title


26 August 2017 – Johor produced a great comeback to win their second ever Agong Cup title. Johor came close last year in Sandakan, Sabah but they were stop by Perak in the extra time. They certainly did not want that to happen again as this time around, they are the one who produce the comeback to stop the host, Terengganu from winning the Agong Cup.

Terengganu with thousands of home crowds, came to witness their team create history had a great start. They also came to witness their 19 years old Prince, Duli Yang Teramat Mulia Yang di-Pertuan Muda Tengku Muhammad Ismail ibni Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin played for his state. The prince was in first 15. It was all about Terengganu in the first 25 minutes. 3 tries and a conversion put Terengganu in the driving seat as the lead 17 – 0 heading to the half an hour mark.

The team from the East Coast had their first try as early as in the second minute of the match. Timoci Vunimoku power and speed cut the Johor line into pieces as he scored Terengganu first try. Terengganu had their second try through the same man as Timoci Vunimoku 10 minutes later as they extended the lead 10 – 0.

Sevanaia Natuitagalua Naitonicagi scored Terengganu third try as he stole the ball from his own half and showed great speed to run all the way. Muhammad Faizal Mat Tahir calmly completed the conversion after two failed attempt earlier. Terengganu lead 17 – 0.

Johor made sure that they stay in contention. Waqaliva Jone Vukukula scored the very first try for Johor on the half hour mark. Winger, Wan Mohd Asyraf added 2 more points as they closed the gap to 7 – 17. The scored remained until the end of the half.

The Southern Tiger continue their comeback at the start of the second half. Wan Mohd Asyraf added 3 more points 2 minutes into the half from the penalty. Johor draw the score level on 50th minutes mark. Mohd Razmi Rozan great run on the wing fruitful as he scored Johor second try. Wan Mohd Asyraf tied the score with a great conversion from a very tight angle. To make things even worst, Terengganu was down to 14 men as Winger, Muhammad Faiz Izzuddin yellow carded because of dangerous tackle.

Even with one man down, Terengganu retake the lead 7 minutes later. Timoci Vunimoku scored his third personal try and Terengganu fourth before Faizal Md Tahir gave two more points. Terengganu lead 24 – 17.

That comfortable lead did not last long. Waqaliva Jone Vukukula scored his second personal try as they reduced the gap to 22 – 24. Johor finally took the lead for the very first time. Wan Mohd Asyraf was on the song as he added 3 more points from the penalty.

It was all about Johor as they kept their dominance. Nissan Aitui physical and speed advantage cause problem for Terengganu as Johor used their main monster man to keep on pressing the Terengganu forward.

Their dominance paid off as subtitute, Amirul Aiman Ihsan scored Johor fourth try in the match. Wan Mohd Asyraf made it 3 out of 4 conversion to add two more points. His 12 points contribution was vital as Johor extended and comfortable in the lead for the first time in the match.

Terengganu tried their very best and produced one last try via Mohammad Azizul Hakim. However, it was a little too late as the referee, Nik Ramadhan Nik Abdullah blew the final whistle. Johor celebrated winning their second ever Agong Cup.

Johor brought home the championship trophy, medals as well as RM 15000. Terengganu had to settle second and kept RM 10000 and medals

Terengganu Chief Minister, Dato’ Seri Hj Ahmad Razif Abd Rahman presented the medals to all the winner.

Photos by Zainuddin Mamat/ragbionline

Leave a Reply

Next Post

A completely different Malaysia in Asia Seven Series

31 August 2017 – Malaysia aims to continue their great performance on Asia Rugby scene as they will have a team competing at the Asia Rugby Seven Series in Hong Kong this week. Malaysia is one of the eight teams in two different pools in a tournament which will take […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: