Kedah claimed favourite status


13 August 2017 – Kedah sends the warning to another team that they are the one to look after in this 2017 Agong Cup season. They beat last year champion, Perak to finish top of the Group A. The day accompanied with heavy shower from the start until the end but Kedah stood still and emerged as the winner.

Perak, however, started on a front foot with the first try of the match on the 5th minutes. Veniona Vukinagauna scored the first try of the match as he finished the fine move by Perak forward. Perak added 3 more points through Mohd Amir Aswad bin Mat Saad to comfortably lead 8 – 0 in the first 20 minutes of the match.

Kedah comes back started 5 minutes later as Hooker, Mohd Akmal Abdul Manaf scored the first try for the host. Kedah captain, Mohd Fairuz Abdul Rahman added 2 more points from the resulting conversion. Kedah finally took the lead after half an hour mark as Fairuz completed their penalty. Kedah 10 – 8 lead remained until the end of the first half.

Kedah had a much better start in the second half and scored 2 more tries and 2 conversions as well as a penalty in the first 10 minutes of the second half. Muhammad Shahril Ridhwan Effendy scored Kedah second try of the match in the 44th minutes before Jone Marawa Nasalo added their third in 48th minutes. Fairuz continues his fine form as completed both conversions. Kedah leads 24 – 8. Fairuz added 3 more points 2 minutes later with his second successful penalty.

Syarif Nurhidayat Muzhaimey scored his first try as Perak tried to crawl their way back in the match. 3 players from Kedah received the yellow card as they tried to stop Perak come back. Jone Marawa Nasalo yellow carded on 55th minutes while Mohd As Shafiq Mohd Idris who came on 3 minutes earlier yellow carded on 66 minutes. Amirul Sani received the third yellow as Muhammad Harith Iqbal scored Perak third try with Mohd Amir Aswad completed Perak first conversion of the match.

The score remained 24 – 20 until the end of time. Kedah claimed top spot with this victory. They will face Sarawak at the MBPJ Stadium on the 21st August 2017.

Perak meanwhile will meet Sabah at Padang A, UPM. Perak will be hoping for a better outing against Sabah as they look to defend 2016 title the won in Sandakan last year.

Photos by Khairil Ajhar/Arena Hijau Kuning for Ragbionline

Leave a Reply

Next Post

Rimau 7s - The Squad Part 3

Wan Izzuddin Ismail hails from Johor started playing during his early secondary school days. Inspired by his elder brother, Wan Omar Ismail and cousin, Wan Muhd Yusuf. Wan currently play for UPM Angels. One of his fondest memories was winning ARX 2015 at MBPJ Stadium. Talking about his darkest hours, […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: