Keris Conlay earned ELITE title


18 July 2017 – Keris Conlay is winning every single tournament that they join in 2017. Conlay earned their latest title as they beat Panthers Blowpipes in the final of ELITE 7s Men at MBPJ Stadium, Kelana Jaya.

Keris Conlay was in complete control in the final match and had their first try through Mohd Khariul Aimi’s try in the first minute. That came after a good work from Uesa Lesumaitahiti whose powerful run stunned the Blowpipes’ players.

Aizat Ashmer Azahar double try in the 4th and 7th minutes made sure that Conlay in total domination. Fairuz Abdul Rahman and Nor Azmi Saruman added 4 more points with two succesful conversion for Conlay to lead 19 – 0 in the first half.

Blowpipes did thir best at the start of the second half but Conlay stood tall to block the effort. In fact, Conlay added another try and conversion through Uesa with Fairuz scored Conlay third conversion in the match.

Things got worst for Blowpipes as their core player Faridzal Ismail yellow carded with one minute to go. Blowpipes however, manage to score their consolation penalty through Tubuna Ratu Peni Buketeivalu in the dying minute. Match ended with 26 – 5 win for Keris Conlay.

Keris Conlay who was lead by the national player, Fairuz Abdul Rahman, had a wonderful tournament as they were unbeaten in all 6 matches that they played. They bring back RM 3000, championship trophy and medals as the champion.

Bunga Raya Junior finished third as they overame NS Wanderers 35 – 5 in the third place match. The Under 20 national team did well to beat Wanderers who defeated them in the group match earlier.

Front Row Club who was expected to be one of the top rank team in the competition finished dissapoint fifth as they beat Singa Malaya of Singapore in the 5th/6th match. Front Row represented by numbers of Malaysia 15s players.

Another Singapore team, Singa Cubs beat ASAS RC in the 7th/8th matches.

Elite 7s Men Standing :

1. Keris Conlay
2. Panthers Blowpipes
3. Bunga Raya Junior
4. NS Wanderers
5. Front Row Club
6. Singa Malaya
7. Singa Cubs

Photos by Zainuddin Mamat/ragbionline

Leave a Reply

Next Post

Piala Agong - Lets the game begin!

Piala Agong was introduced more than 3 decades ago with PDRM winning the inaugural Cup in 1983. The prestigious competition provides the venue for the states to compete against each other and also includes PDRM and ATM. ATM is the side with the most win, winning the Cup on 11 […]

Subscribe US Now

%d bloggers like this: