3 tittles in 6 finals for Conlay

1 April 2017 – Keris Conlay managed to overcome last year disappointment as they win their third tittles in six years. Conlay overcame ASAS RC in the final, 24 – 17.

The match kick off at 4.00pm at the Padang A, Universiti Putra Malaysia right after the 3/4 place match. The match was as closed as they could be as both team try to out do one another. Keris Conlay first break the deadlock in the 5th minutes Mohd Fared Yahya try. Flyhalf, Mohd Fairuz bin Abdul Rahman completed the conversion to give Conlay 7 – 0 lead. ASAS captain, Syarif Nurhidayat bin Muzhaimey reduced the gap as he scored ASAS first try 15 minutes in the match.

Keris Conlay made sure that they took every opportunity presented to them. Conlay benefit from ASAS mistake as they added 3 more points from Mohd Fairuz bin Abdul Rahman penalty in the 24th minutes to extend the 10 – 5 lead. Fairuz then complete his second penalty at the half hour mark to make it 13 – 5.

ASAS RC made sure they stay in the contention few minutes later as Kelevi Rokuva Ketereomo scored ASAS second try. Luqman Hakim added 2 more points to close the gap to one point as the first half ended 13 – 12 in favour of Keris Conlay.

Both team made changes at the beginning of the second half. Mohd Fairuz bin Abdul Rahman continued his wonderful display as he took and completed the third penalty for Keris Conlay 5 minutes into the second half. Keris Conlay produced a wonderful and well discipline performance to stop ASAS RC attack.

Etonia Vaqa Saukura extend Conlay lead with 15 minutes to go. His try made sure Conlay extend the lead ASAS RC 21 – 12 and firmly in control of the match. Winger, Muhamad Farid Abdul Rahman closed the gap with his try at the 70th minutes as they made sure they kept their chance alive.

Fourth personal penalty from Mohd Fairuz bin Abdul Rahman in the 76th minutes killed any last minute comeback from ASAS RC. Keris Conlay won the 2017 AirAsia Malaysia Rugby League as they beat ASAS RC 24 – 17.

This is Keris Conlay third tittle in six years. Keris Conlay first won back in 2013. Their second tittle came in 2015 while this 2017 came after sixth successive final. Keris Conlay received trophy, medals and RM 10000 while ASAS RC who reached the final for the first time since they was founded back in 2001 received RM 5000 and medals. Mersing Eagles who finished third after they beat UiTM Lions 25 – 24 received RM 3000 and medals. Lions received RM 1500 in fourth place.

Dato’ Seri Zulkeples Embong, CEO for the upcoming SEA Games presented the prize for all the winner.

Keris Conlay will face Eagles Rugby Club from Sandakan who win East Division on 15th April 2017 in the grand final.

Photos by Zainuddin Mamat and Ali Mufti/CSN/ragbionline

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: